Monday, June 1, 2009

Pompy - Man U

So as you may well know I've been playing a lot of football manager 2009 lately. Things were going pretty well for me so I couldn't bring myself to stop playing.

Good ol' Football Manager.

Here's what's been going on:

Pretty close to the end of the season I sit in a disappointing 12th and was knocked out of the FA cup in the third round. So in all honesty a poor effort. Luckily for me we've worked our way through the UEFA cup and are in the quarter finals.....against Manchester United.



This was the most important match I have ever played, my nerves began during the loading screen, I started pacing and breathing heavily. Let's just say it didn't go well. First leg, at home and we got smashed 4-1 leaving me devastated.

Next up Arsenal in the Premier League: Got made, 4 - 0.

Second leg of UEFA cup quarter final at old trafford. Of course I wasn't expecting anything from this match, we needed a huge 4 goals against a defense / goalkeeper who've let only 8 in this entire season. I told the boys the pressure was off and they went out there hoping to keep some pride for the pompy fans. Let me just say I'm so proud of my squad. They fought hard and ended up winning 2 - 0, largely thanks to some superb finishing by Diop and Rooney's inability to score (he had several long shots that missed and then 1 foot away from the goals, empty net, he hits the post it was the funniest thing I've ever seen.)

My beloved Fans


So in the end we got knocked out of the UEFA cup 4-3 on aggregate. The cup was the light at the end of the tunnel for Portsmouth, we worked so hard to get where we were and now it's gone. I was really praying for a cup win, to take the pressure of me for the otherwise poor season I've had. What the hell were Man U doing in the UEFA cup anyway?? They were in the Champions League as well. Trophy whores.

17 comments:

  1. CARLO ANCELOTTI quit AC Milan yesterday to take over as boss of Chelsea.
    And the Italian coach will be given £50million to help bring the Premier League trophy back to Stamford Bridge.

    Ancelotti, 49, is expected to be unveiled officially as Guus Hiddink’s successor within 24 hours.

    After his last game with Milan — a 2-0 win at Fiorentina — he said: “In agreement with the club, we have decided to terminate the contract a year early.

    “It was decided by mutual consent after the game. Our roads will separate next season.”

    At least THREE new stars are on the radar with owner Roman Abramovich giving Ancelotti the biggest Blues transfer budget since Jose Mourinho.

    It is the first time in two seasons the Russian owner has dipped into his own pocket to buy players.

    SunSport revealed last week Chelsea have already agreed a deal for CSKA Moscow attacking midfielder Yuri Zhirkhov.

    Both Bayern Munich’s French winger Franck Ribery and Valencia’s Spain striker David Villa have already been targeted.

    Ancelotti has also authorised the sale of Florent Malouda, Salomon Kalou and Deco.

    As we said in March, a three-year deal worth £16.5million has been agreed with the Italian.

    While refusing to confirm his move to Chelsea yesterday, Ancelotti added: “I am certainly not staying in Italy.”

    Meanwhile, Blues skipper John Terry revealed he and his team-mates are already looking forward to welcoming some big names to Stamford Bridge.

    He said: “There needs to be a couple of changes, a few players brought in, maybe.

    “A few players who haven’t played in the last couple of years maybe need to move on.

    “We’ll see Chelsea back and competing for the top players who are out there at the moment.

    “The likes of Ribery, Villa — these are the kind of players we want to attract.

    “We need those kind of players to strengthen the side and, at the same time, we need to keep hold of lads like Didier Drogba, Ashley and Joe Cole, who are up for contract talks.

    “When big players become available, we need to show people and let them know that, yes, Chelsea are back.”

    ReplyDelete
  2. For Chelsea fans this an article for you so you can rejoice as ancelotti will be taking charge

    well done 5 managers in 3 years or so (jose mourinho, avram grant, scolari, guus hiddink and now ancelotti

    ReplyDelete
  3. hey everyone!

    ok about lampard vs gerrard!

    finn, gerrard is not a ranga! the questions ask who do you like better? doesnt necessarily mean who is the best! it means in your opinion who do you like better!

    gerrard and lampard are 2 fantastic english midfielders. Both can change the game, great finishing, one of the best penalty takers, good at crossing/passing, inspirational, etc.

    But Gerrard is technically the better player. One of the best at long shot finishing, inspirational skipper, bit younger and has more appearances than lampard. He also a local player for Liverpool. Yeah everyone respects and likes him.

    Liverpool has lots of good history. One of the most successful english team ever. Winning 19 premier league titles. and 5 UEFA Champions Leagues and many more. History lesson for Liverpool supporters if they didn;t know.

    But Chelsea haven't got good history as Liverpool. Not won a UEFA Champions League at all. And only won 3 premier league titles! 2 of them this century!

    This era is when Chelsea has become a great club. With Lampard inspiring the team to victory! His composure, can play with both feet, good team player, sportsmanship, passes/assists, shooting, good discipline record. all of this has made him respected by everyone. Which is why I voted for Lampard.

    But overall, I reckon Gerrard is a sensational player. But Lampard is also sensational. I don't care about who has the better statistics, they both are one of the best midfielders in the game.

    All other teams in the world cup should watch out for these 2. because if they combine together their abilities, nothing will stop them in england winning a world cup next year!

    Looks like i'm already prepared for english exam tomorrow. which is good! Ok i see you guys around tomorrow or other days because I'm not on msn tonight! Good luck with exams. eat healthy, get good sleep, study hard. and you will succeed!

    ReplyDelete
  4. i suppose one could argue that the gerrard lampard thing depends one whether u wanna see the cool-headed, intelligent and composed game that lampard brings to the pitch, or the explosive, match influencing, entertaining and moral raising game that is steven gerrard

    ReplyDelete
  5. 'All other teams in the world cup should watch out for these 2. because if they combine together their abilities, nothing will stop them in england winning a world cup next year!'

    Tonga, the problem is, with Englands lineup, u cant play both at the same time without having one somewhere where they wont be as effective. Gerrard is perhaps the only complete all-round footballer in the world, but even with his versatility, im sure England would much rather see him playing in a position he will perform well in, ie. CM/CAM, the same prefered position as Lampard. This dilemma means either Gerrard or Lampard are always on the bench, at this point in time, Gerrard is the preference (and with good reason, he's a better player =-P)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Well said Riley, two very good points.

    ReplyDelete
  7. "Gerrard is perhaps the only complete-all-round footballer in the world"

    Can he keep?

    ReplyDelete
  8. lampard is match influencing, entertaining and morale raising!

    ReplyDelete
  9. and riley fuk u! u douchebag!
    tonga already said gerrard was betta than lampard! dont need to rub it in his face. he already accepted that gerrard > lampard.
    he just likes lampard betta!

    Tonga said...
    "But Gerrard is technically the better player. One of the best at long shot finishing, inspirational skipper, bit younger and has more appearances than lampard. He also a local player for Liverpool. Yeah everyone respects and likes him."

    ReplyDelete
  10. i wasnt rubbing it in his face...
    the last bit wasnt directed at him, i was just stating which player i prefered

    ReplyDelete
  11. maybe do the last 2 pages of the math exam rilay you derp

    ReplyDelete
  12. i can totally see how that relates to the current debate

    ReplyDelete
  13. exams are gay like...................

    ReplyDelete